New Years Resolutions

I’m a fan of New Years Resolutions. It’s an unpopular position it seems lately. People seem to pooh pooh the idea because so often we don’t end up making a real change or getting to the goal. I think it’s always nice to make your wants known to the universe. Who knows what will happen after that? But I digress…

So without further ado:

  1. Lose 30 pounds by the end of the year.
  2. Become more present at work.
  3. Blog 4 times a month.
  4. Read a bedtime story to my kids every night.
  5. Read or listen to a least one complete audiobook every month and then review it.
  6. Stop buying so much ink.
  7. Get one really nice pen with an italic nib.
  8. Spend less money on random things.

That’s it. I’m putting it out there. I hope that this year I have good luck with my resolutions. I’m really going to try and make these things a habit. Well, except for #7. I think my hubby would have my head if I made getting really nice pens a habit. I also want a vintage flex nib but that might have to wait until next year.

Starting the Strathmore Visual Journal class this week. Can’t wait to try and do a visual journal. It’ll be a real challenge for me because I am not an artist. Still I want to get in the habit of doing art even if it’s bad. Confront my fears and all that. I’m afraid to suck. So I’m going to go into this thing that I love even knowing that I might not be great at it. And I hope to learn that not being a great artist is okay and failure is okay and I’ll be alright either way. Secretly though, I hope to be decent and then get better.

Leave a comment

Filed under Journals, Paper

Leave a Reply

