Pilot VP Binderized Cursive Nib

Soooooooo…..

I bought a used Vanishing Point off of FPN (Fountain Pen Network) and had it customized with a .9 Binder Cursive Italic. Later, it went missing and I mourned it. So, I bought a .7 Binder cursive nib and Slate Grey pen body to replace the missing pen which may still turn up somewhere. I inked that pen with Pelikan Edelstein Jade. I’m thinking now that I like this Jade but not the .7 cursive italic nib. To me, it seems like the .7 misses the point of contrast in strokes entirely. Maybe I would have been happy had I bought the .7 first but I didn’t. I bought a .9 first and LURVED IT!! The .7 is just not doing it for me and I’ve had it here just a few hours. The Binderized VP nibs are $91 which may not be much for some but I’m a college librarian with two kids. It’s tons for me. So I’m gonna have to live with this one.

I do like the slate grey body. Seems to be one of those colors that won’t attract attention in a meeting. That is exactly what I was hoping for, I have a decimo in champagne pink which is also a subtle color in a meeting. A few people at work know I’m into fountain pens. One, even takes my leftover samples from the Inkdrop to use in his fountain pens. He found out I was into fountain pens and resurrected his old fountain pens. I now have a fellow convert in the Tallahassee area.

Leave a comment

Filed under First Impressions, fountain pens, Pens

Leave a Reply

